A Mellow Memory

img_8872-beach-smush

We went to beach on Friday, I bunked off work that day, thinking that there were only a few days of sun left before the rains came. I brought my camera with me, and snapped this one of my David. When reviewing the photos, I couldn’t help but think of the lyrics to the song Orpheus by David Sylvian. It’s a classic fave from eons ago.

Standing firm on this stony ground
The wind blows hard
Pulls these clothes around

I harbor all the same worries as most
The temptations to leave or to give up the ghost
I wrestle with an outlook on life
That shifts between darkness and shadowy light
I struggle with words for fear that they’ll hear
But Orpheus sleeps on his back still dead to the world

Sunlight falls, my wings open wide
There’s a beauty here I cannot deny
And bottles that tumble and crash on the stairs
Are just so many people I knew never cared
Down below on the wreck of the ship
Are a stronghold of pleasures I couldn’t regret
But the baggage is swallowed up by the tide
As Orpheus keeps to his promise and stays by my side

Tell me, I’ve still a lot to learn
Understand, these fires never stop
Please believe, when this joke is tired of laughing
I will hear the promise of my Orpheus sing

 

David Sylvian ‘Orpheus ‘ from flip on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

